Pivotal-Response-Therapie (PRT) und Autismus-Spektrum-Störung

Autismus oder Autismus-Spektrum-Störung (ASS) ist eine neurologische Entwicklungsstörung, die häufig bei Kindern beobachtet wird. Diese Krankheit betrifft hauptsächlich die kommunikativen und sozialen Fähigkeiten einer Person. Es gibt jedoch auch andere Symptome, die mit der Krankheit einhergehen können. Autismus wird mit Verhaltenstherapien und Medikamenten behandelt, aber es gibt immer noch keine Heilung.

Es gibt mehrere Modelle der Verhaltenstherapie, die in der Behandlung von Autismus eingesetzt werden. Eine davon ist die Pivotal-Response-Therapie (PRT), seltener auch zentrale Reaktionsbehandlung. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Behandlungsmethode, die auf die zentralen Entwicklungsbereiche von Kindern abzielt. Diese Behandlung ist spielerisch und richtet sich an Kinder zwischen 2 und 6 Jahren.

Für viele Autismus-Patienten ist die Pivotal-Response-Therapie eine vielversprechende Möglichkeit. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, über die PRT, ihr Verfahren und ihre Wirksamkeit bei der Autismus-Behandlung Bescheid zu wissen. Es trägt dazu bei, zentrale Verhaltensbereiche dieser Patienten zu verbessern.

Dieser Artikel bespricht die PRT-Therapie bei Autismus. Er behandelt auch den Mechanismus, das übliche Verfahren und die Wirksamkeit der Behandlung.

Was ist Pivotal-Response-Training bei Autismus?

Die Pivotal-Response-Therapie oder PRT ist eine spielerische Verhaltens-Behandlungsmethode bei Autismus. Die frühere Bezeichnung für diese Therapie war das Verfahren in natürlicher Sprache. Sie wurde in den 1980er Jahren von den Ärzten Robert und Lynn Koegel entwickelt.

Die PRT-Autismus-Therapie unterscheidet sich von anderen Formen dadurch, dass das Kind das Spiel initiieren soll. Obwohl diese Therapieform sich an Kinder zwischen 2 und 6 Jahren richtet, kann sie auch für ältere autistische Patienten adaptiert werden.

Der vom Kind initiierte Ansatz des Pivotal-Response-Training trägt zur Verbesserung der Hauptsymptome von ASS bei. Diese Behandlung zielt darauf ab, die Verhaltensweisen eines Kindes in vier zentralen Verhaltensbereichen zu verbessern und nicht in einzelnen Merkmalen. Diese sind:

  • Motivation
  • Selbstmanagement
  • Reaktionsfähigkeit auf mehrere Reize
  • Soziale Initiation

Die sozialen und kommunikativen Defizite bei Autismus machen diese Bereiche wichtig für Verbesserungen. Dies ermöglicht einen weitreichenden Nutzen, der eine vielversprechendere Verbesserungsrate bietet.

Was ist die Idee hinter der Pivotal-Response-Therapie (PRT)?

Die Pivotal-Response-Therapie bei Autismus basiert auf den Aspekten der angewandten Verhaltensanalyse (Applied Behavior Analysis, ABA). Dabei handelt es sich um eine Reihe wirksamer Strategien, die für das Lehren oder Ändern des Verhaltens autistischer Patienten eingesetzt werden

Die PRT zielt auf vier Hauptaspekte im Verhalten von autistischen Kindern ab. Diese Aspekte werden aufgrund ihrer Bedeutung für das spätere Leben als zentral angesehen. Die PRT-Autismus-Therapie belohnt die Kinder dafür, die Initiative in Spielen oder bei Interaktionen zu übernehmen. Das ist der Kernaspekt, der einen Einfluss auf diese zentralen Verhaltensbereiche hat.

Motivation ist ein zentraler Aspekt für die anderen Verhaltensweisen, auf die die Pivotal-Response-Therapie abzielt. Eine Infografik zeigt die zentralen Verhaltensbereiche, die im Rahmen der Therapie angesprochen werden.

Sie beeinflusst diese zentralen Bereiche unten. Das natürliche Interesse des Kindes wird genutzt, um das Verhalten in diesen Bereichen zu verstärken. Die Idee ist, dass diese Bereiche eine Grundlage für erweiterte soziale und Kommunikationsfähigkeiten bilden.

  1. Motivation. Kinder müssen ihre Motivation durch die Erledigung von Aufgaben und das Treffen von Entscheidungen finden. Die Belohnung danach unterstützt bei der Beibehaltung selbstmotivierenden Verhaltens. Erhöhte Motivation wirkt sich auf die anderen zentralen Bereiche aus.
  2. Selbstmanagement. Für das die PRT-Autismus-Therapie erhaltende Kind werden Ziele festgelegt. Sie erhalten einen gewissen Grad an Unabhängigkeit, um zu lernen und diese Aufgaben selbst zu lösen.
  3. Reaktionsfähigkeit auf mehrere Reize. Autistische Kinder können unter Umständen Schwierigkeiten dabei haben, verschiedene Anweisungen für dieselbe Handlung zu befolgen. PRT will dies verbessern, indem es mehrere Aufforderungen bzw. Anweisungen für das Ziel gibt.
  4. Soziale Initiation. Wenn Kinder ihre natürliche Neugierde zeigen, indem sie Fragen zu ihren Zielen stellen.

Wie sieht ein typisches PRT-Therapieprogramm aus?

Wie die meisten Behandlungsformen bei Autismus wird ein PRT-Autismus-Therapieprogramm nach einer Beurteilung des Kindes entwickelt. Auf diese Weise werden ihre defizitären Bereiche stärker berücksichtigt als andere und ihre Interessen genutzt. Außerdem ist es unerlässlich, sich an einen Therapeuten zu wenden, der eine Ausbildung in der Pivotal-Response-Therapie absolviert hat.

Eine übliche Sitzung der PRT-Therapie umfasst sechs große Abschnitte. Dabei handelt es sich um getrennte strukturierte und unstrukturierte Sitzungen in den Bereichen Spiel, Sozialisation und Sprache. Diese Sitzungen bleiben während des gesamten Programms nicht statisch. Sie nutzen fortlaufende Beurteilungen, um sie den Fortschritten des Kindes anzupassen.

Die Behandlung mittels Pivotal-Response-Therapie erfolgt spielerisch. Die Besonderheiten der Behandlung ändern sich mit dem Fortschritt der Kinder.

Die PRT (Pivotal-Response-Therapie) kann in einer Reihe von Situationen stattfinden. Dazu können ein Klassenzimmer oder zu Hause zählen. Umgebungen, in denen das Kind sich regelmäßig und natürlich aufhält, sind dazu am besten geeignet. Die Pivotal-Response-Therapie bei Autismus kann von verschiedenen Praktikern durchgeführt werden. Beispiele sind Sonderschullehrer, Psychologen und Therapeuten. Auch Familienmitglieder können involviert werden.

Ein Programm sollte in der Regel mehr als 25 Stunden pro Woche umfassen. Diejenigen, die dem Kind nahe stehen, wie Geschwister und Eltern, sollten versuchen, PRT-Techniken im täglichen Leben anzuwenden. Dies ermöglicht Verbesserungen in zentralen Bereichen, insbesondere in Kombination mit anderen Techniken für zu Hause.

Was umfasst die Pivotal-Response-Therapie (PRT)?

Bei der Arbeit mit Ihrem Kind, sei es als Erzieher, Therapeut oder Elternteil, durchläuft PRT drei Hauptphasen pro Sitzung.

Setzen von Zielen

Der erste Schritt besteht darin, ein Ziel zu setzen, das erreicht werden sollte. Es gibt keinen Katalog vorgegebener Ziele, aus dem man wählen könnte. Diese müssen auf der Grundlage der persönlichen Interessen des Kindes entwickelt werden.

Wenn das Ziel zum Beispiel darin besteht, die Wiederholung eines Satzes zu fördern, ist es am besten, ihn an die Vorlieben des Kindes anzupassen. Zum Beispiel könnte man sagen: „Ich will das Auto“, wenn das Kind gerne mit solchem Spielzeug spielt.

Auf Interessen basiertes Erreichen der Ziele

Dank des Interesses des Kindes an Spielzeugautos erhöht sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass das Kind sich damit beschäftigt. Diese Technik kann auch modifiziert und auf andere Interessen zugeschnitten werden. Das kann das Werfen eines Balls oder das Malen eines Bildes sein. Solange ein Ziel gesetzt werden kann, ist es für ein Kind einfacher, es je nach seinem Interesse zu erreichen.

Belohnung

Solange sich das Kind bemüht, das Ziel zu erreichen, sollte es belohnt werden. Dazu müssen sie beim ersten Mal nicht zwingend erfolgreich bei der Aufgabe sein. Der Prozess wird ihre Sozialisation und Kommunikation weiter verbessern. Auch die Belohnung sollte an ihre Interessen zugeschnitten sein.

Aufbau und Definition einer formellen PRT-Sitzung of PRT sind relativ einfach handzuhaben. Allerdings erfordert die Behandlung von autistischen Kindern eine Menge Geduld. Infolgedessen ist zu erwarten, dass die Pivotal-Response-Therapie über Jahre hinweg eingesetzt werden kann.

Ist die PRT bei Autismus wirksam?

Unter den vielen Verhaltenstherapien, die es für ASS gibt, ist die Pivotal-Response-Therapie eine der wirksamsten. Viele unabhängige Studien haben ihre Wirksamkeit bestätigt.

Im Jahr 2021 wurde beispielsweise in einer 12-wöchigen Studie die Wirksamkeit von PRT bei der Verbesserung der Sprachkompetenz nachgewiesen. Eine weitere Studie aus dem Jahr 2021 bestätigte die positiven Auswirkungen von PRT auf die Sprache. Darüber hinaus zeigte sich außerdem eine hohe Wirksamkeit bei der Förderung des Frageverhaltens bei Kindern mit ASS.

Die Pivotal-Response-Therapie hat sich für Kinder mit ASS als nützlich erwiesen.

Im Jahr 2016 wurde eine Meta-Analyse über 34 Artikel zur Pivotal-Response-Therapie durchgeführt. Diese Analyse zeigte, dass die PRT, die sich auf zwei Kernmerkmale von ASS konzentrierte, zu einer Verbesserung führte. Eine weitere Studie verglich PRT mit gewöhnlichen Behandlungsformen bei Autismus. In dieser wurde eine Verbesserung einer diagnostischen Autismus-Skala nach sechs Monaten PRT nachgewiesen.

Wie man die Wirkung von PRT verstärkt

Wenn ein individueller Behandlungsplan für den Patienten entwickelt wird, gewährleistet dies die größte Wirksamkeit bei der Erzielung von Verbesserungen. Andere Formen der Verhaltenstherapie sowie auch Medikation können kombiniert werden. Das erlaubt eine vielschichtige Herangehensweise, die das beste Behandlungsergebnis liefert.

Neben der Pivotal-Response-Therapie können Patienten während dem Aufenthalt in einer Klinik auch eine Stammzellentherapie bei Autismus erhalten. Die Stammzellenbehandlung bei Autismus hat Vorteile für die Patienten. Allerdings ist eine Verbesserung nicht garantiert und es ist auch kein Allheilmittel. Jeder Patient sollte ein persönliches Beratungsgespräch führen, um seine Chancen mit einer Stammzellenbehandlung zu ermitteln. Sie können unseren medizinischen Berater kontaktieren, um mehr über die Vorteile der Stammzellentherapie bei der Behandlung von Autismus zu erfahren.

Erhalten Sie eine kostenlose Online-Beratung

Kontaktieren Sie uns, um herauszufinden, wie die Stammzellentherapie Symptome verbessern kann, ob sie ein Kandidat für die Behandlung sind und was sie umfasst.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


Quellenangaben:

  1. “A natural language teaching paradigm for nonverbal autistic children.” R. L. Koegel, M. C. O’Dell, L. K. Koegel. J Autism Dev Disord. 1987 Jun;17(2):187-200. doi: 10.1007/BF01495055.

  2. “Language Improvement Following Pivotal Response Treatment for Children With Developmental Disorders.” Jessica M. Schwartzman, Kristen Strong, Christina M. Ardel, Rachel K. Schuck, M. Estefania Millan, Jennifer M. Phillips, Antonio Y. Hardan, Grace W. Gengoux. Am J Intellect Dev Disabil. 2021 Jan 1;126(1):45-57. doi: 10.1352/1944-7558-126.1.45.

  3. “The Efficacy of Pivotal Response Treatment in Teaching Question-Asking Initiations to Young Turkish Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Gulden Bozkus-Genc, Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. J Autism Dev Disord. 2021 Nov;51(11):3868-3886. doi: 10.1007/s10803-020-04848-y.

  4. “Meta-Analysis of Pivotal Response Training for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Bozkus-Genc, Gulden, and Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities, 51, no. 1 (2016): 13–26. https://www.jstor.org/stable/26420361.

  5. “The Effect of Pivotal Response Treatment in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Non-randomized Study with a Blinded Outcome Measure.” E. A. Duifhuis, J. C. den Boer, A. Doornbos, J. K. Buitelaar, I. J. Oosterling, and H. Klip. J Autism Dev Disord. 2017; 47(2): 231–242. doi: 10.1007/s10803-016-2916-0.

  6. “Stem cell therapy in autism: recent insights.” Dario Siniscalco, Suresh Kannan, Neomar Semprún-Hernández, Adrien A Eshraghi, Anna Lisa Brigida, and Nicola Antonucci. Stem Cells Cloning. 2018; 11: 55–67. doi: 10.2147/SCCAA.S155410.

More sources

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Artikel
Video

We use cookies on our site to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.

Got it

facebook

Pivotal Response Treatment (PRT) for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Autism, or autism spectrum disorder (ASD), is a developmental disorder often seen in children. This condition mainly affects a person’s communicative and social skills. However, there are other symptoms that may accompany the condition. Autism is managed with behavioral therapies and medication, but there is still no cure.

There are multiple models of behavioral therapy employed in the treatment of autism. One of these is pivotal response treatment (PRT). This is a treatment method that targets children’s pivotal developmental regions. This treatment is play-based and targets children between the ages of 2 and 6 years old.

For many patients, pivotal response treatment autism therapy is a promising option. For this reason, it is important to know about PRT, its procedure, and how effective it is for autism treatment. It helps improve pivotal behavior domains for these patients.

This article will talk about PRT autism therapy. It will also discuss its mechanism, the usual procedure, and the efficacy of the treatment.

What is pivotal response training for autism?

Pivotal response treatment, or PRT, is a play-based behavioral treatment method for autism. The previous name for this therapy was the natural language paradigm. It was developed by Drs. Robert and Lynn Koegel in the 1980s.

What makes PRT autism therapy a bit different from other forms is that the child is intended to initiate the play. Though pivotal response therapy is intended for children between the ages of 2 and 6 years old, it can be adapted for older autistic patients. 

The child-initiated approach of pivotal response training helps improve the major symptoms of ASD. It aims to improve a child’s behavior in four pivotal behavior areas instead of individual traits. These are:

  • Motivation
  • Self-management
  • Responsivity to multiple cues
  • Social initiations

The social and communicative deficits in autism make these areas important for improvement. This allows for widespread benefits, providing a more promising rate of improvement.

Get a free online consultation

Contact us to learn how stem cell therapy can improve symptoms, whether you are a candidate for the treatment, and what it includes.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina
Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


What is the idea behind pivotal response treatment (PRT)?

In Floortime autism therapy, therapists teach parents how to direct their child into more complex i

Pivotal response treatment autism therapy is based on facets of applied behavioral analysis (ABA). This is a series of effective strategies used for teaching or modifying behavior of autistic patients.

PRT targets four major aspects of behavior in autistic children. These aspects are deemed to be pivotal due to how important they are in later life. PRT autism therapy rewards children for taking the initiative during play or interactions. This is the core aspect that has an impact on these pivotal behavior regions.

Motivation is central to the other behaviors targeted in pivotal response treatment.

It influences these pivotal regions below. The natural interest of the child is used to reinforce behavior in these domains. The idea is that these regions form a foundation for advanced social and communication skills.

  1. Motivation. Children must find their motivation by completing tasks and making choices. The reward afterwards helps maintain the self-motivating behavior. Increased motivation impacts the other pivotal domains.
  2. Self-management. Goals are set for the child receiving PRT autism therapy. They are given a degree of independence to learn and complete these tasks on their own.
  3. Responsivity to multiple cues. Autistic children may have difficulties obeying different instructions for the same action. PRT aims to improve this by providing multiple prompts for the goal.
  4. Social initiations. It is when children show natural inquisitiveness by asking questions about their goals.

What is a typical PRT therapy program?

Like most treatments for autism, a PRT autism therapy program is developed following an assessment of the child. This way, it will target their deficient areas more than others, and take advantage of their interests. It is also essential to engage with a therapist who has received pivotal response treatment training.

A typical session of PRT therapy comprises six major sections. These are separate structured and unstructured sessions in play, socialization, and language. These sessions do not remain static throughout the program. They make use of continuous assessments in order to make them relevant as the child progresses.

Pivotal response treatment is play-based. The specifics of treatment change as children progress.

The therapists involved in the DIR Floortime autism treatment model are mostly occupational therapists

PRT, pivotal response treatment, can take place in a number of settings. This can include in a classroom or at home. Environments that the child is regularly and naturally in are the best. Pivotal response treatment autism therapy can be provided by different practitioners. Examples include special education teachers, psychologists, and therapists. Family members can also become involved.

A program should usually have more than 25 hours dedicated each week. Those close to the child such as siblings and parents should attempt to use PRT techniques in daily life. This allows improvements in pivotal domains, especially combined with other home-based techniques.

What does pivotal response treatment (PRT) involve?

When working with your child, either as an educator, therapist, or parent, PRT follows three major stages per session.

Setting goals

The first step involves establishing a goal to be achieved. There’s no catalog of predetermined goals to select from. These must be developed based on the child’s personal interests.

For instance, if the goal is to encourage repeating a phrase, it is best tailored towards the child’s likes. For instance, it could be to say “I want the car” if the child enjoys playing with toys like that.

Interest-based achieving

Usually, the specific targeted therapies are included separately with the cost of DIR Floortime. In DIR Thanks to the child’s interest in toy cars, it increases the likelihood of the child engaging. This technique can be modified to fit other interests as well. It might be to throw a ball or to draw a picture. As long as a goal can be set, it makes it easier for a child to attain it based on their interest.

Rewarding

As long as the child makes an effort to complete the goal, they should be rewarded. They do not need to be successful at the task the first time around. The process will continue to improve on their socialization and communication. Rewards should also be tailored to their interests.

The structure and definition of a formal session of PRT are relatively straightforward. However, treating autistic children takes a lot of patience. As a result, it should be expected that pivotal response therapy may be utilized for years.

Is PRT effective for autism?

Among the many behavioral therapies that exist for ASD, pivotal response therapy is one of the most effective. Many independent studies have been performed to corroborate its efficacy.

For instance, in 2021, a study over 12 weeks demonstrated the efficacy of PRT in improving language skills. Another study from 2021 corroborated the positive effects of PRT on language. In addition to that, it showed high efficacy in promoting question-asking behavior among children with ASD.

Pivotal response therapy has a proven benefit for children with ASD.

In 2016, a meta-analysis of 34 pivotal response therapy articles was done. This analysis showed that when PRT focused on two core features of ASD, there was improvement. Another study compared PRT with regular treatment for autism. This one demonstrated an improvement in a diagnostic autism scale after six months of PRT.

How to increase the effect of PRT

When a personalized treatment plan will be developed for the patient, this ensures the most efficacy in achieving improvements. Other forms of behavioral therapy, as well as medication, can be combined. This will allow for a multi-faceted approach that provides the best outcome of treatment.

Alongside pivotal response treatment, patients can also receive stem cell therapy for autism while staying at the Clinic. Stem cell treatment for autism has been shown to have benefits for patients. However, improvement is not guaranteed, neither is it a cure-all. Every patient should have a personal consultation to determine their chances with stem cell treatment. You can contact our medical adviser to find out about the benefits of stem cell therapy in managing autism.

*Disclaimer. It should be kept in mind that the effectiveness of therapy depends on many factors: the initial state of the patient, the patient’s age, genetic predisposition, lifestyle, including nutrition, the availability of support of additional therapies, etc.

Get a free online consultation

Contact us to learn how stem cell therapy can improve symptoms, whether you are a candidate for the treatment, and what it includes.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina
Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


List of References

  1. “A natural language teaching paradigm for nonverbal autistic children.” R. L. Koegel, M. C. O’Dell, L. K. Koegel. J Autism Dev Disord. 1987 Jun;17(2):187-200. doi: 10.1007/BF01495055.

  2. “Language Improvement Following Pivotal Response Treatment for Children With Developmental Disorders.” Jessica M. Schwartzman, Kristen Strong, Christina M. Ardel, Rachel K. Schuck, M. Estefania Millan, Jennifer M. Phillips, Antonio Y. Hardan, Grace W. Gengoux. Am J Intellect Dev Disabil. 2021 Jan 1;126(1):45-57. doi: 10.1352/1944-7558-126.1.45.

  3. “The Efficacy of Pivotal Response Treatment in Teaching Question-Asking Initiations to Young Turkish Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Gulden Bozkus-Genc, Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. J Autism Dev Disord. 2021 Nov;51(11):3868-3886. doi: 10.1007/s10803-020-04848-y.

  4. “Meta-Analysis of Pivotal Response Training for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Bozkus-Genc, Gulden, and Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities, 51, no. 1 (2016): 13–26. https://www.jstor.org/stable/26420361.

  5. “The Effect of Pivotal Response Treatment in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Non-randomized Study with a Blinded Outcome Measure.” E. A. Duifhuis, J. C. den Boer, A. Doornbos, J. K. Buitelaar, I. J. Oosterling, and H. Klip. J Autism Dev Disord. 2017; 47(2): 231–242. doi: 10.1007/s10803-016-2916-0.

  6. “Stem cell therapy in autism: recent insights.” Dario Siniscalco, Suresh Kannan, Neomar Semprún-Hernández, Adrien A Eshraghi, Anna Lisa Brigida, and Nicola Antonucci. Stem Cells Cloning. 2018; 11: 55–67. doi: 10.2147/SCCAA.S155410.

More sources

May interest you

Article
Video

We use cookies on our site to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.

Got it