Traitement de réponse pivot et troubles du spectre autistique

L’autisme, ou trouble du spectre autistique (TSA), est un trouble du développement souvent observé chez les enfants. Ce trouble affecte principalement les compétences communicatives et sociales d’une personne. Cependant, d’autres symptômes peuvent l’accompagner. L’autisme est pris en charge par des thérapies comportementales et des médicaments, mais il n’existe toujours pas de remède.

Il existe plusieurs modèles de thérapie comportementale utilisés dans le traitement de l’autisme. Le traitement de réponse pivot (le pivotal response treatment, PRT) étant un parmi d’autres. Il s’agit d’une méthode de traitement qui cible les régions pivots du développement des enfants. Ce traitement est basé sur le jeu et vise les enfants âgés de 2 à 6 ans.

Pour de nombreux patients, la thérapie de l’autisme par le traitement de réponse pivot est une option prometteuse. C’est ainsi qu’il est important de connaître le PRT, sa procédure et son efficacité dans le traitement de l’autisme. Il permet d’améliorer les domaines comportementaux pivots de ces patients.

Cet article traite de la thérapie par PRT pour l’autisme. Il abordera également son mécanisme, la procédure habituelle et l’efficacité du traitement.

Qu’est-ce qu’un entraînement à la réponse pivot pour l’autisme ?

Le traitement de réponse pivot, ou PRT, est une méthode de traitement comportemental de l’autisme basée sur le jeu. L’ancien nom de cette thérapie était le paradigme du langage naturel. Elle a été développée par les docteurs Robert et Lynn Koegel dans les années 1980.

Ce qui rend la thérapie de l’autisme par le PRT un peu différente des autres formes, c’est que l’enfant est censé initier le jeu. Bien que la thérapie de réponse pivot soit destinée aux enfants âgés de 2 à 6 ans, elle peut être adaptée aux patients autistes plus âgés.

L’approche initiée par l’enfant au cours de l’entraînement à la réponse pivot contribue à traiter les principaux symptômes des TSA. Elle vise à améliorer le comportement de l’enfant dans quatre domaines comportementaux pivots plutôt que dans des traits individuels. Ces domaines sont les suivants :

  • Motivation
  • Autogestion
  • Réactivité à des signaux multiples
  • Initiations sociales

Les déficits sociaux et communicatifs de l’autisme nécessitent l’amélioration de ces domaines afin d’améliorer considérablement l’état de la personne autiste.

Quelle est l’idée derrière le traitement de réponse pivot (le PRT) ?

Le traitement de réponse pivot de l’autisme est basé sur les facettes de l’analyse comportementale appliquée (ABA – applied behavior analysis). Il s’agit d’une série de stratégies efficaces utilisées pour enseigner ou modifier le comportement des autistes.

Le PRT cible quatre aspects majeurs du comportement des enfants autistes. Ces aspects sont considérés comme essentiels en raison de leur importance pour la vie future. La thérapie autistique PRT récompense les enfants qui prennent l’initiative pendant le jeu ou les interactions. Il s’agit de l’aspect principal qui a un impact sur ces régions comportementales pivots.

La motivation est au cœur des autres comportements ciblés dans le traitement de réponse pivot. Une infographie montrant les régions de comportement pivot qui sont ciblées pendant la thérapie.

Il influence les régions pivots ci-dessous. L’intérêt naturel de l’enfant est utilisé pour renforcer le comportement dans ces domaines. L’idée est que ces régions forment une base pour des compétences sociales et de communication avancée.

  1. Motivation. Les enfants doivent trouver leur motivation en accomplissant des tâches et en ayant des choix à faire. La récompense qui suit permet de maintenir le comportement d’auto-motivation. Une motivation accrue a un impact sur les autres domaines pivots.
  2. Autogestion. Des objectifs sont fixés pour l’enfant recevant la thérapie autistique PRT. Il bénéficie d’un certain degré d’indépendance pour apprendre et accomplir ces tâches par lui-même.
  3. Réceptivité à des signaux multiples. Les enfants autistes peuvent avoir des difficultés à obéir à différentes instructions pour la même action. Le PRT vise à améliorer cette situation en fournissant de multiples indices pour l’objectif.
  4. Initiations sociales. C’est lorsque les enfants font preuve d’une curiosité naturelle en posant des questions sur leurs objectifs.

Quel est le programme typique d’un traitement de réponse pivot ?

Comme la plupart des traitements de l’autisme, un programme de thérapie de l’autisme PRT est développé suivant l’évaluation de l’enfant. Ainsi, il cible plus ses domaines déficients et tire parti de ses intérêts. Il est également essentiel de s’engager avec un thérapeute qui a reçu une formation au traitement de réponse pivot.

Une séance typique de thérapie PRT comprend six grandes sections. Il s’agit de séances distinctes, structurées et non structurées, portant sur le jeu, la socialisation et le langage. Ces sessions ne restent pas statiques tout au long du programme. Elles font appel à des évaluations continues afin de les rendre pertinentes à mesure que l’enfant progresse.

Le traitement de réponse pivot est basé sur le jeu. Les spécificités du traitement changent au fur et à mesure que les enfants progressent.

Le PRT, traitement de réponse pivot, peut se dérouler dans un certain nombre de contextes. Il peut s’agir d’une salle de classe ou de la maison. Les environnements dans lesquels l’enfant se trouve régulièrement et naturellement sont les meilleurs à choisir. La thérapie de l’autisme de réponse pivot peut être dispensée par différents praticiens. Il s’agit par exemple d’enseignants spécialisés, de psychologues et de thérapeutes. Les membres de la famille peuvent également être impliqués.

Un programme doit généralement consacrer plus de 25 heures par semaine. Les personnes proches de l’enfant, comme les frères et sœurs et les parents, doivent essayer d’utiliser les techniques du PRT dans la vie quotidienne. Cela permet d’obtenir des améliorations dans les domaines essentiels, notamment en combinaison avec d’autres techniques à domicile.

En quoi consiste le traitement de réponse pivot (PRT) ?

En tant qu’éducateur, thérapeute ou parent, le TRP suit trois grandes étapes par séance.

Fixation des objectifs 

La première étape consiste à fixer un objectif à atteindre. Il n’existe pas de catalogue d’objectifs prédéterminés parmi lesquels choisir. Ils doivent être élaborés en fonction des intérêts personnels de l’enfant.

Par exemple, si l’objectif est d’encourager la répétition d’une phrase, il est préférable de l’adapter aux goûts de l’enfant. Par exemple, il pourrait s’agir de dire “Je veux la voiture” si l’enfant aime jouer avec des jouets de ce genre.

Réalisation basée sur les intérêts

L’intérêt de l’enfant pour ces voitures miniatures permet d’augmenter la probabilité d’engagement de l’enfant. Cette technique peut être modifiée pour s’adapter à d’autres intérêts également. Il peut s’agir de lancer une balle ou de faire un dessin. Tant qu’un objectif peut être fixé, il est plus facile pour l’enfant de l’atteindre en fonction de son intérêt.

Récompense

À mesure que l’enfant fait un effort pour atteindre l’objectif, il doit être récompensé. Il n’est pas nécessaire qu’il réussisse la tâche du premier coup. Cet effort permet d’améliorer sa socialisation et sa communication. Les récompenses doivent également être adaptées à leurs intérêts.

La structure et la définition d’une session formelle de TRP sont relativement simples. Cependant, le traitement des enfants autistes demande beaucoup de patience. Par conséquent, il faut s’attendre à ce que la thérapie de réponse pivot soit utilisée pendant des années.

Le PRT est-il efficace pour l’autisme ?

Parmi les nombreuses thérapies comportementales qui existent pour les TSA, la thérapie de réponse pivot est l’une des plus efficaces. De nombreuses études indépendantes ont été réalisées pour corroborer ce constat.

Par exemple, en 2021, une étude sur 12 semaines a démontré l’efficacité du PRT dans l’amélioration des compétences linguistiques. Une autre étude de 2021 a corroboré les effets positifs du PRT sur le langage. En outre, les enfants atteints de TSA qui ont recours à ce traitement ont tendance à poser plus de questions.

La thérapie de réponse pivot a un bénéfice prouvé pour les enfants atteints de TSA.

En 2016, une méta-analyse de 34 articles sur la thérapie de réponse pivot a été réalisée. Cette analyse a montré qu’une amélioration est constatée lorsque le PRT se concentre sur deux caractéristiques fondamentales des TSA. Une autre étude a comparé le PRT à un traitement ordinaire de l’autisme. Celle-ci a démontré une amélioration d’une échelle diagnostique de l’autisme après six mois de PRT.

Comment augmenter l’effet du PRT

Lorsqu’un plan de traitement personnalisé est élaboré pour le patient, il garantit une efficacité maximale à obtenir des améliorations. D’autres formes de thérapie comportementale, ainsi que des médicaments, peuvent être combinées. Cela permet d’adopter une approche à multiples facettes qui offre les meilleurs résultats du traitement.

En plus du traitement de réponse pivot (le pivotal response treatment, PRT), les patients peuvent également recevoir une thérapie par cellules souches pour l’autisme pendant leur séjour à la clinique. Il a été démontré que le traitement par cellules souches pour l’autisme présente des avantages pour les patients. Toutefois, l’amélioration n’est pas garantie et il ne s’agit pas non plus d’une panacée. Chaque patient doit avoir une consultation personnelle pour déterminer ses chances avec le traitement par cellules souches. Vous pouvez contacter notre conseiller médical pour en savoir plus sur les avantages de la thérapie par cellules souches dans la prise en charge de l’autisme.

Obtenez une consultation gratuite en ligne 

Contactez-nous pour savoir comment la thérapie par cellules souches peut traiter les symptômes, et ce qu’elle comprend.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


Liste des références:

  1. “A natural language teaching paradigm for nonverbal autistic children.” R. L. Koegel, M. C. O’Dell, L. K. Koegel. J Autism Dev Disord. 1987 Jun;17(2):187-200. doi: 10.1007/BF01495055.

  2. “Language Improvement Following Pivotal Response Treatment for Children With Developmental Disorders.” Jessica M. Schwartzman, Kristen Strong, Christina M. Ardel, Rachel K. Schuck, M. Estefania Millan, Jennifer M. Phillips, Antonio Y. Hardan, Grace W. Gengoux. Am J Intellect Dev Disabil. 2021 Jan 1;126(1):45-57. doi: 10.1352/1944-7558-126.1.45.

  3. “The Efficacy of Pivotal Response Treatment in Teaching Question-Asking Initiations to Young Turkish Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Gulden Bozkus-Genc, Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. J Autism Dev Disord. 2021 Nov;51(11):3868-3886. doi: 10.1007/s10803-020-04848-y.

  4. “Meta-Analysis of Pivotal Response Training for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Bozkus-Genc, Gulden, and Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities, 51, no. 1 (2016): 13–26. https://www.jstor.org/stable/26420361.

  5. “The Effect of Pivotal Response Treatment in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Non-randomized Study with a Blinded Outcome Measure.” E. A. Duifhuis, J. C. den Boer, A. Doornbos, J. K. Buitelaar, I. J. Oosterling, and H. Klip. J Autism Dev Disord. 2017; 47(2): 231–242. doi: 10.1007/s10803-016-2916-0.

  6. “Stem cell therapy in autism: recent insights.” Dario Siniscalco, Suresh Kannan, Neomar Semprún-Hernández, Adrien A Eshraghi, Anna Lisa Brigida, and Nicola Antonucci. Stem Cells Cloning. 2018; 11: 55–67. doi: 10.2147/SCCAA.S155410.

More sources

Ça peut vous intéresser

Article
Vidéo

We use cookies on our site to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.

Got it

facebook

Pivotal Response Treatment (PRT) for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Autism, or autism spectrum disorder (ASD), is a developmental disorder often seen in children. This condition mainly affects a person’s communicative and social skills. However, there are other symptoms that may accompany the condition. Autism is managed with behavioral therapies and medication, but there is still no cure.

There are multiple models of behavioral therapy employed in the treatment of autism. One of these is pivotal response treatment (PRT). This is a treatment method that targets children’s pivotal developmental regions. This treatment is play-based and targets children between the ages of 2 and 6 years old.

For many patients, pivotal response treatment autism therapy is a promising option. For this reason, it is important to know about PRT, its procedure, and how effective it is for autism treatment. It helps improve pivotal behavior domains for these patients.

This article will talk about PRT autism therapy. It will also discuss its mechanism, the usual procedure, and the efficacy of the treatment.

What is pivotal response training for autism?

Pivotal response treatment, or PRT, is a play-based behavioral treatment method for autism. The previous name for this therapy was the natural language paradigm. It was developed by Drs. Robert and Lynn Koegel in the 1980s.

What makes PRT autism therapy a bit different from other forms is that the child is intended to initiate the play. Though pivotal response therapy is intended for children between the ages of 2 and 6 years old, it can be adapted for older autistic patients. 

The child-initiated approach of pivotal response training helps improve the major symptoms of ASD. It aims to improve a child’s behavior in four pivotal behavior areas instead of individual traits. These are:

  • Motivation
  • Self-management
  • Responsivity to multiple cues
  • Social initiations

The social and communicative deficits in autism make these areas important for improvement. This allows for widespread benefits, providing a more promising rate of improvement.

Get a free online consultation

Contact us to learn how stem cell therapy can improve symptoms, whether you are a candidate for the treatment, and what it includes.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina
Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


What is the idea behind pivotal response treatment (PRT)?

In Floortime autism therapy, therapists teach parents how to direct their child into more complex i

Pivotal response treatment autism therapy is based on facets of applied behavioral analysis (ABA). This is a series of effective strategies used for teaching or modifying behavior of autistic patients.

PRT targets four major aspects of behavior in autistic children. These aspects are deemed to be pivotal due to how important they are in later life. PRT autism therapy rewards children for taking the initiative during play or interactions. This is the core aspect that has an impact on these pivotal behavior regions.

Motivation is central to the other behaviors targeted in pivotal response treatment.

It influences these pivotal regions below. The natural interest of the child is used to reinforce behavior in these domains. The idea is that these regions form a foundation for advanced social and communication skills.

  1. Motivation. Children must find their motivation by completing tasks and making choices. The reward afterwards helps maintain the self-motivating behavior. Increased motivation impacts the other pivotal domains.
  2. Self-management. Goals are set for the child receiving PRT autism therapy. They are given a degree of independence to learn and complete these tasks on their own.
  3. Responsivity to multiple cues. Autistic children may have difficulties obeying different instructions for the same action. PRT aims to improve this by providing multiple prompts for the goal.
  4. Social initiations. It is when children show natural inquisitiveness by asking questions about their goals.

What is a typical PRT therapy program?

Like most treatments for autism, a PRT autism therapy program is developed following an assessment of the child. This way, it will target their deficient areas more than others, and take advantage of their interests. It is also essential to engage with a therapist who has received pivotal response treatment training.

A typical session of PRT therapy comprises six major sections. These are separate structured and unstructured sessions in play, socialization, and language. These sessions do not remain static throughout the program. They make use of continuous assessments in order to make them relevant as the child progresses.

Pivotal response treatment is play-based. The specifics of treatment change as children progress.

The therapists involved in the DIR Floortime autism treatment model are mostly occupational therapists

PRT, pivotal response treatment, can take place in a number of settings. This can include in a classroom or at home. Environments that the child is regularly and naturally in are the best. Pivotal response treatment autism therapy can be provided by different practitioners. Examples include special education teachers, psychologists, and therapists. Family members can also become involved.

A program should usually have more than 25 hours dedicated each week. Those close to the child such as siblings and parents should attempt to use PRT techniques in daily life. This allows improvements in pivotal domains, especially combined with other home-based techniques.

What does pivotal response treatment (PRT) involve?

When working with your child, either as an educator, therapist, or parent, PRT follows three major stages per session.

Setting goals

The first step involves establishing a goal to be achieved. There’s no catalog of predetermined goals to select from. These must be developed based on the child’s personal interests.

For instance, if the goal is to encourage repeating a phrase, it is best tailored towards the child’s likes. For instance, it could be to say “I want the car” if the child enjoys playing with toys like that.

Interest-based achieving

Usually, the specific targeted therapies are included separately with the cost of DIR Floortime. In DIR Thanks to the child’s interest in toy cars, it increases the likelihood of the child engaging. This technique can be modified to fit other interests as well. It might be to throw a ball or to draw a picture. As long as a goal can be set, it makes it easier for a child to attain it based on their interest.

Rewarding

As long as the child makes an effort to complete the goal, they should be rewarded. They do not need to be successful at the task the first time around. The process will continue to improve on their socialization and communication. Rewards should also be tailored to their interests.

The structure and definition of a formal session of PRT are relatively straightforward. However, treating autistic children takes a lot of patience. As a result, it should be expected that pivotal response therapy may be utilized for years.

Is PRT effective for autism?

Among the many behavioral therapies that exist for ASD, pivotal response therapy is one of the most effective. Many independent studies have been performed to corroborate its efficacy.

For instance, in 2021, a study over 12 weeks demonstrated the efficacy of PRT in improving language skills. Another study from 2021 corroborated the positive effects of PRT on language. In addition to that, it showed high efficacy in promoting question-asking behavior among children with ASD.

Pivotal response therapy has a proven benefit for children with ASD.

In 2016, a meta-analysis of 34 pivotal response therapy articles was done. This analysis showed that when PRT focused on two core features of ASD, there was improvement. Another study compared PRT with regular treatment for autism. This one demonstrated an improvement in a diagnostic autism scale after six months of PRT.

How to increase the effect of PRT

When a personalized treatment plan will be developed for the patient, this ensures the most efficacy in achieving improvements. Other forms of behavioral therapy, as well as medication, can be combined. This will allow for a multi-faceted approach that provides the best outcome of treatment.

Alongside pivotal response treatment, patients can also receive stem cell therapy for autism while staying at the Clinic. Stem cell treatment for autism has been shown to have benefits for patients. However, improvement is not guaranteed, neither is it a cure-all. Every patient should have a personal consultation to determine their chances with stem cell treatment. You can contact our medical adviser to find out about the benefits of stem cell therapy in managing autism.

*Disclaimer. It should be kept in mind that the effectiveness of therapy depends on many factors: the initial state of the patient, the patient’s age, genetic predisposition, lifestyle, including nutrition, the availability of support of additional therapies, etc.

Get a free online consultation

Contact us to learn how stem cell therapy can improve symptoms, whether you are a candidate for the treatment, and what it includes.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina
Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


List of References

  1. “A natural language teaching paradigm for nonverbal autistic children.” R. L. Koegel, M. C. O’Dell, L. K. Koegel. J Autism Dev Disord. 1987 Jun;17(2):187-200. doi: 10.1007/BF01495055.

  2. “Language Improvement Following Pivotal Response Treatment for Children With Developmental Disorders.” Jessica M. Schwartzman, Kristen Strong, Christina M. Ardel, Rachel K. Schuck, M. Estefania Millan, Jennifer M. Phillips, Antonio Y. Hardan, Grace W. Gengoux. Am J Intellect Dev Disabil. 2021 Jan 1;126(1):45-57. doi: 10.1352/1944-7558-126.1.45.

  3. “The Efficacy of Pivotal Response Treatment in Teaching Question-Asking Initiations to Young Turkish Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Gulden Bozkus-Genc, Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. J Autism Dev Disord. 2021 Nov;51(11):3868-3886. doi: 10.1007/s10803-020-04848-y.

  4. “Meta-Analysis of Pivotal Response Training for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder.” Bozkus-Genc, Gulden, and Serife Yucesoy-Ozkan. Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities, 51, no. 1 (2016): 13–26. https://www.jstor.org/stable/26420361.

  5. “The Effect of Pivotal Response Treatment in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Non-randomized Study with a Blinded Outcome Measure.” E. A. Duifhuis, J. C. den Boer, A. Doornbos, J. K. Buitelaar, I. J. Oosterling, and H. Klip. J Autism Dev Disord. 2017; 47(2): 231–242. doi: 10.1007/s10803-016-2916-0.

  6. “Stem cell therapy in autism: recent insights.” Dario Siniscalco, Suresh Kannan, Neomar Semprún-Hernández, Adrien A Eshraghi, Anna Lisa Brigida, and Nicola Antonucci. Stem Cells Cloning. 2018; 11: 55–67. doi: 10.2147/SCCAA.S155410.

More sources

May interest you

Article
Video

We use cookies on our site to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.

Got it