Diabète de type 2 - Thérapie à Base de Cellules Souches | Swiss Medica

Diabète de type 2 – Thérapie à Base de Cellules Souches

Le cellule degli esseri umani ricavano l’energia dallo zucchero (glucosio), che deriva dal cibo oppure è accumulato nel fegato. Le molecole di glucosio sono distribuite alle cellule dal flusso sanguigno. Il diabete è una malattia comune, che compare quando le cellule non riescono a trasformare il glucosio in energia. Per questo, il livello di glucosio del sangue aumenta ̶ ciò è chiamato iperglicemia ̶ e causa gravi conseguenze ai principali organi e sistemi del corpo, come cuore, vasi sanguigni, nervi, occhi e reni. Il diabete di Tipo 2 aumenta anche il rischio di morte prematura.

Normalement, les taux sanguins de glucose sont régulés par l’insuline, une hormone sécrétée par les cellules bêta pancréatiques. Le diabète de type 2 se développe lorsque le pancréas ne peut pas fournir suffisamment d’insuline ou lorsque le corps ne peut pas utiliser efficacement l’insuline qu’il produit. Le diabète de type 1 est une maladie beaucoup moins courante; il se développe lorsque les cellules du système immunitaire détruisent les cellules bêta du pancréas, de sorte que la sécrétion d’insuline diminue considérablement.

Conséquences d’un diabète incontrôlé: un taux élevé de glycémie (hyperglycémie) entraîne de nombreux effets négatifs sur les principaux systèmes du corps — cœur, vaisseaux sanguins, nerfs, yeux et reins, ainsi qu’un risque plus élevé de décès prématuré (extrait du rapport mondial de l’OMS sur le diabète, 2016).

Le diabète de type 2 est généralement diagnostiqué après 45 ans, mais il est de plus en plus diagnostiqué chez les enfants et les jeunes adultes. Le poids excessif et la sédentarité sont les principaux facteurs de risque du diabète de type 2. La maladie commence progressivement; aux premiers stades, un patient peut se sentir bien. Une glycémie élevée peut être révélée par hasard lorsque le patient est examiné pour une autre raison. Voici les principaux signes et symptômes qui devraient attirer votre attention en tant que signes possibles du diabète:

  • soif accrue et mictions fréquentes;
  • augmentation de la faim;
  • perte de poids non intentionnelle;
  • une sensation de fatigue;
  • vision floue;
  • blessures indolentes;
  • infections fréquentes;
  • zones de peau foncée, généralement au niveau des aisselles et du cou.
Signes du diabète. Si vous remarquez ces signes, veuillez contacter votre médecin et faire tester votre glycémie.

Comment la thérapie à base de cellules souches peut aider à traiter les patients atteints du diabète de type 2

Les scientifiques n’ont pas encore trouvé de remède pour le diabète de type 2. Tous les efforts se concentrent actuellement sur le contrôle du taux de glucose. Il est recommandé aux personnes souffrant de diabète de type 2 de maintenir une alimentation saine et un poids corporel élevé, et de faire régulièrement de l’exercice pour gérer la maladie. Si le régime alimentaire et des exercices physiques ne suffisent pas à bien contrôler le taux de glucose dans le sang, le patient peut également avoir besoin de médicaments contre le diabète ou d’une thérapie à l’insuline.

Depuis le début des années 1990, les chercheurs ont développé et adopté différentes approches des cellules souches pour traiter le diabète. Des études récentes ont démontré les résultats prometteurs de l’utilisation des cellules mononucléaires de la moelle osseuse (CMN) et des cellules souches mésenchymateuses multipotentes (CSMM), notamment la préservation de la fonction des cellules bêta, une diminution significative du dosage de l’insuline et une meilleure régénération chez les patients souffrant d’ulcères du pied diabétique.

Essais cliniques avec des cellules hématopoïétiques et mononucléées de la moelle osseuse pour traitement du diabète sucré de type 2. (MO-CMN: cellules mononucléées de la moelle osseuse; IV: intraveineuse; CSM: cellules souches mésenchymateuses).
Essais cliniques avec des cellules souches mésenchymateuses pour traitement du diabète sucré de type 2. (IV : intraveineuse).

Résultats attendus

Les résultats de la thérapie à base de cellules souches ont été évalués par des mesures à la fois objectives et subjectives. La plupart des patients traités par injections de CSMM présentent une amélioration stable des signes et symptômes suivants de la maladie :

  • disparition/réduction des symptômes cliniques (glycémie normale, contrôle de l’appétit et du poids, etc);
  • réduction de la dose d’insuline ou réduction de la dose de médicaments hypoglycémiques administrés par voie orale ;
  • une diminution de la glycémie à jeun ;
  • réduction du C-peptide sérique ;
  • une diminution de la concentration d’hémoglobine glyquée ;
  • amélioration de la qualité de vie (évaluée à l’aide d’un questionnaire spécial SF-36).

En cas de traitement d’un ulcère diabétique par des injections de CSMM, les résultats suivants peuvent être obtenus :

  • disparition/réduction des symptômes cliniques (glycémie normale, contrôle de l’appétit et du poids, etc);
  • réduction de la taille de l’ulcère (en rayon et en profondeur, le cas échéant) ;
  • guérison complète de l’ulcère ;
  • augmentation de la tension transcutanée de l’oxygène dans l’ulcère ;
  • augmentation de l’index cheville-bras dans l’ulcère ;
  • amélioration de la qualité de vie (évaluée à l’aide d’un questionnaire spécial SF-36).

Résultats des patients de Swiss Medica

Voici l’histoire du patient de Swiss Medica d’Indonésie: Wahyudin a visité la clinique Swiss Medica à Moscou en décembre 2017 pour la première fois pour recevoir un traitement du diabète de type 2. Avant le traitement, son taux de glucose était supérieur à 200-250 mg/dL (la plage normale est de 79 à 110 mg/dL). Le traitement qu’il a reçu impliquait à la fois une thérapie IMR et une thérapie par cellules souches.

La première visite à Swiss Medica a entraîné des changements dans son mode de vie et son alimentation — il a pu mieux contrôler son appétit et il a perdu 4,5 kilos. Le contrôle de la glycémie a montré un niveau stable à environ 120-140 mg/dL, et parfois même en dessous de 100 mg/dL. Même lorsque Wahyudin a mangé des produits malsains, son taux de glucose n’a augmenté que jusqu’à un peu plus de 140 mg/dL, ce qui est considéré comme bien contrôlé.

Après six mois, Wahyudin est retourné à Moscou pour suivre le deuxième traitement. Lors de cette visite, la procédure comprenait l’utilisation de la thérapie CSMM à partir de son propre tissu adipeux et le traitement avec des cellules autologues de la fraction stromale mésenchymateuse de la moelle osseuse. En conséquence, son poids a encore diminué de 2 kilos, son taux de glucose a baissé à 100-120 mg/dL, son régime alimentaire est devenu plus stable et il est maintenant capable de contrôler son appétit plus efficacement. Le bénéfice inattendu du traitement a été une amélioration de sa vision, dès le premier traitement — grâce au traitement à base de cellules souches, il est devenu capable de conduire une voiture pendant la journée et de travailler sur un ordinateur sans lunettes.

Comment et pourquoi les cellules souches agissent dans le traitement du diabète de type 2?

Les CSM multipotentes peuvent réduire l’hyperglycémie dans le diabète de type 2 principalement en stimulant la régénération des cellules bêta par plusieurs mécanismes:

  1. L’activation de la différenciation des cellules progénitrices du pancréas et l’augmentation du nombre de précurseurs des cellules bêta.
  2. L’activité pro-angiogénique des CSMM, qui entraîne une vascularisation accrue des îlots pancréatiques (régions du pancréas qui contiennent des cellules endocrines — qui sont des cellules productrices d’hormones) et une amélioration générale de sa fonction endocrine.
  3. Et l’effet immunomodulateur, qui joue un rôle crucial dans la présence d’une composante auto-immune dans le développement et la persistance du diabète, et qui est une partie importante des effets complexes des CSMM.

Lors de la guérison d’ulcères diabétiques, l’objectif principal est de rétablir une circulation sanguine adéquate dans la zone de l’ulcération et de réduire l’ischémie. Les CSMM activent les cellules résidentes et attirent les cellules progénitrices en circulation. Ils induisent également une nouvelle croissance vasculaire à partir des réseaux capillaires existants. L’approvisionnement en nutriments et en oxygène est ainsi rétabli, ce qui conduit à la stimulation de l’épithélialisation de l’ulcère. La capacité des CSMM à stimuler le développement des réseaux capillaires et l’augmentation subséquente du flux sanguin contribue à améliorer l’une des plus graves complications du diabète de type 2 : le dysfonctionnement microvasculaire généralisé. L’effet hypoglycémiant des CSMM contribue à la guérison des lésions cutanées ulcéreuses chez les patients diabétiques. Les injections locales de CSMM directement autour de la plaie améliorent encore l’efficacité du produit cellulaire, ce qui contribue à accélérer la cicatrisation des lésions.

Source des cellules souches utilisées dans le traitement du diabète de type 2

Les CSM multipotentes peuvent être obtenues à la fois à partir des propres tissus du patient (moelle osseuse, tissu adipeux, sang périphérique ou muqueuse buccale) ou à partir de sources de donneurs (placenta, cordon ombilical, etc.)..

En quoi consiste la procédure du traitement?

La procédure de traitement comprend les étapes suivantes, qui durent généralement plusieurs semaines :

  1. Prélèvement de produits cellulaires — source de CSMM ;
  2. Cultivation des cellules pour obtenir la quantité requise de CSMM (c’est la phase la plus longue, qui dure environ 4 semaines);
  3. Introduction des CSMM.

Si les cellules du donneur sont utilisées dans le traitement, la deuxième étape est exclue. Le matériel cellulaire peut être préparé à l’avance à partir de cellules congelées (cryopréservées), et des CSMM peuvent être préparées dans les 24 heures.

Procédures préliminaires

Avant la procédure, un médecin de Swiss Medica examine le patient et détermine son état de santé actuel et ses caractéristiques individuelles, en recueillant toutes les données disponibles de son histoire médicale afin de déterminer la faisabilité et la possibilité de mener une thérapie à base cellules souches en utilisant des CSMM. Des tests de laboratoire et/ou instrumentaux sont effectués afin qu’un spécialiste puisse déterminer la source la plus appropriée de CSMM autologues (moelle osseuse, tissu adipeux ou tissu gingival).

Dans la salle d’opération, le médecin prépare la peau du patient en la nettoyant avec un antiseptique puis en lui administrant une anesthésie locale ou générale. Ensuite, le prélèvement de matériel biologique est effectué.

Les échantillons de la moelle osseuse sont généralement prélevés sur la crête supérieure de l’arrière de l’articulation de la hanche et parfois sur l’avant de l’articulation de la hanche.

Le tissu adipeux est prélevé dans la zone de la paroi abdominale antérieure, des surfaces latérales de la taille, des fesses et/ou de la face externe des hanches.

Des échantillons de cellules souches gingivales sont prélevés par le chirurgien qui découpe 3-4 mm3 des gencives.

Durée

Le prélèvement de la moelle osseuse prend environ une heure en moyenne.

Le prélèvement des cellules du FSV adipeux prend environ 30 minutes et varie en fonction de la quantité de tissu aspiré chez le patient.

Le prélèvement de cellules dans les tissus gingivaux est également une procédure relativement brève.

Le patient est suivi après le prélèvement des CSMM afin de s’assurer de leur sécurité.

Votre confort pendant les procédures

Vous pouvez ressentir une douleur semblable à celle d’une injection ordinaire lorsque le médecin introduit un médicament anesthésiant (dans le cas du prélèvement de cellules propres ou d’injections de produits cellulaires locaux).

Sécurité de la thérapie à base de cellules souches

Le principal problème de sécurité de la thérapie à base de cellules souches est une éventuelle transformation maligne (c’est-à-dire le risque de cancer). Les résultats des essais cliniques ont confirmé qu’il n’existe aucune preuve scientifique que les CSMM peuvent potentiellement se transformer spontanément lorsque le contrôle de qualité de la culture cellulaire et de l’injection est assuré. Les injections locales de cellules souches ont également montré un profil très sûr. Les procédures sont généralement bien tolérées chez la majorité des patients. Cependant, une intolérance individuelle, bien que rare, ne peut être exclue. Les spécialistes de Swiss Medica surveillent votre état pour vous assurer un résultat sûr et bénéfique. Ils prendront également les mesures appropriées pour atténuer les risques éventuels.

Récupération après le traitement

Les patients peuvent ressentir une certaine douleur à l’endroit où les cellules souches ont été prélevées. Afin de clarifier l’efficacité de la transplantation des CSMM et la décision de réintroduire le produit cellulaire, les patients subissent un examen de routine après 3 et 6 mois après l’injection des cellules souches. Les examens obligatoires comprennent un examen physique, la collecte des antécédents médicaux et un ensemble de tests de laboratoire et instrumentaux, qui sont effectués pour évaluer les résultats de la thérapie à base de cellules souches.

Contactez-nous

Si vous avez des questions sur les procédures de traitement et l’utilisation des cellules souches pour gérer le diabète de type 2, veuillez contacter notre conseiller médical. Vous pouvez discuter de votre cas individuel avec un spécialiste de la clinique Swiss Medica.

Dr. Aleksandra Fetyukhina, MD

Medical Advisor, Swiss Medica doctor


List of References

  1. World Health Organization. Diabetes. 2018.

  2. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), USA.

  3. National Institutes of Health, USA.

  4. Li LHH et al. Infusion with human bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells improves β-cell function in patients and non-obese mice with severe diabetes. Sci Rep. 2016;6:37894.

  5. 36-Item Short Form Health Survey questionnaire.

  6.  Wang Y et al. Plasticity of mesenchymal stem cells in immunomodulation: pathological and therapeutic implications. Nat Immunol. 2014;15 (11):1009-16.

  7. Cao Y et al. Mesenchymal stem cells improve healing of diabetic foot ulcer. J Diabetes Res. 2017;2017:9328347.v

  8.  Bhansali A et al. Efficacy and safety of autologous bone marrow-derived stem cell transplantation in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus: a randomized placebo-controlled study. Cell Transplant. 2014;23(9):1075-85.

  9. Liu X et al. A preliminary evaluation of efficacy and safety of Wharton’s jelly mesenchymal stem cell transplantation in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus. Stem Cell Res Ther. 2014;5(2):57.

     

More sources

Ça peut vous intéresser

Article
Vidéo

We use cookies on our site to ensure that we give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.

Got it

News

Here you can read all news about stem cells.

Learn More

Diseases that we treat Media about us MS case studies Stem cells research Statistical report New modern technology

Diabetes Type 2 Stem Cell Treatment

16/04/2019

How Stem Cell Therapy can help treat patients with type 2 diabetesExpected resultsResults of Swiss Medica patientsHow and why stem cells work?Source of stem cellsWhat does the treatment procedure involve?Preliminary proceduresDurationYour comfort during the proceduresSafety of stem cell therapyRecovery after treatmentList of literature references

Cells of human beings obtain energy from sugar (glucose) which is produced from food or stored in the liver. Molecules of glucose are delivered to cells through the bloodstream. Diabetes is a common chronic disease that develops when cells fail to convert glucose into energy. Thus, the glucose level in blood increases – this is called hyperglycemia, which leads to negative consequences for the major systems of the body – heart, blood vessels, nerves, eyes, and kidneys. Type 2 diabetes also increases the overall likelihood of dying prematurely [1].

Normally, glucose blood levels are regulated by insulin, a hormone secreted by pancreatic beta cells. Type 2 diabetes develops when the pancreas cannot provide enough insulin or when the body cannot effectively use the insulin it produces. Type 1 diabetes is a much less common disease; it develops when the immune system cells destroy the pancreas beta cells, so insulin secretion significantly decreases.

Picture 1. Consequences of uncontrolled diabetes: High level of blood glucose (hyperglycemia) leads to many negative effects for major systems of the body – heart, blood vessels, nerves, eyes, and kidneys, as well as a higher risk of premature death [1] (excerpt from the WHO global report on diabetes, 2016).

Diabetes type 2. Consequences

Type 2 diabetes is usually diagnosed after age 45, however, it is being increasingly diagnosed in children and younger adults [2]. Excessive weight and physical inactivity are the main risk factors for type 2 diabetes [1]. The disease begins gradually; at the early stages, a patient may feel fine. Elevated blood glucose can be revealed accidentally when the patient is examined for another reason. These are major signs and symptoms that should draw your attention as possible signals of diabetes:

  • enhanced thirst and frequent urination;
  • increased hunger;
  • unintentional weight loss;
  • a feeling of tiredness;
  • blurred vision;
  • indolent wounds;
  • frequent infections;
  • areas of darkened skin, usually in the armpits and neck.

Picture 2. Signs of diabetes. If you notice these signs, please contact your doctor and have your blood glucose levels tested.

Signs of diabetes

How stem cell therapy can help treat patients with type 2 diabetes

Scientists have not yet found a cure for type 2 diabetes. All efforts are currently focused on controlling the glucose level. It is recommended that those suffering from type 2 diabetes maintain a healthy diet and body weight, and exercise regularly to manage the disease. If diet and exercise aren’t enough to control blood glucose levels well, the patient may also need diabetes medications or insulin therapy.

Researchers have been developing and adopting different stem cell approaches to treat diabetes since the early 1990s [3]. Recent studies have demonstrated the promising results of using bone marrow mononuclear cells (MNC) and multipotent mesenchymal stem cells (MMSCs), including preserving the function of beta-cells, significant decreases of insulin dosage, and improved regeneration in patients with diabetic foot ulcers [4], [7], [8].

Table 1. Clinical trials using bone marrow hematopoietic and mononuclear cells to treat type 2 diabetes mellitus. (BM-MNC: bone marrow mononuclear cells; IV: intravenous; MSC: mesenchymal stem cells) [4].

Type 2 diabetes. Clinical trials

Table 2. Clinical trials using mesenchymal stem cells to treat type 2 diabetes mellitus. (IV: intravenous) [4].

Type 2 diabetes. Clinical trials2

Expected results

The results of stem cell therapy have been evaluated by both objective and subjective measures. Most of the patients treated with MMSC injections show stable improvement of the following signs and symptoms of the disease:

  • disappearance/reduction of clinical symptoms (normal blood glucose, control of appetite and weight, etc.);
  • insulin dose reduction or oral hypoglycemic drug dose reduction;
  • a decrease in fasting blood glucose;
  • increased serum C-peptide;
  • a lower concentration of glycated hemoglobin;
  • improvement in the quality of life (assessed using a specialized questionnaire SF-36 [5]).

In cases of diabetic ulcer treatment with MMSC injections, the following results may be achieved:

  • disappearance/reduction of clinical symptoms (normal blood glucose, control of appetite and weight, etc.);
  • reduction of the ulcer size (in both radius and depth, if applicable);
  • complete healing of the ulcer;
  • increased transcutaneous oxygen tension in the ulcer;
  • increased ankle-brachial index in the ulcer;
  • improvement in the quality of life (assessed using a specialized questionnaire SF-36 [5]).

Results of Swiss Medica patients

This is the story of a Swiss Media patient from Indonesia: Wahyudin visited the Swiss Medica clinic in Moscow in December 2017 for the first time to receive treatment for type 2 diabetes. Before the treatment, his glucose level was above 200-250 mg/dL (normal range is 79 to 110 mg/dL). The treatment he received involved both IMR therapy and Stem Cell Therapy.

The first visit to Swiss Medica resulted in changes to his lifestyle and diet – he was able to better control his appetite and ended up losing 4.5 kilos. Blood sugar monitoring showed a stable level at about 120-140 mg/dL, and sometimes even below 100 mg/dL. Even when Wahyudin ate some unhealthy food, his glucose levels only increased to just above 140 mg/dL, which is considered under control.

After 6 months, Wahyudin went to Moscow again to receive the second treatment course. At the time of this visit, the procedure involved the use of autologous adipose tissue MMSC therapy and autologous bone marrow mesenchymal stromal fraction cells therapy. As a result, his weight dropped by another 2 kilos, his glucose levels decreased to 100-120 mg/dL, his diet became more stable and he is now able to control his appetite more effectively. The unexpected benefit of the treatment was an improvement to his vision, starting from the first treatment course – thanks to the stem cell treatment, he became able to drive a car during daytime and work on a computer without glasses.

How and why stem cells work in the treatment of type 2 diabetes

Multipotent MSCs can reduce hyperglycemia in type 2 diabetes primarily by stimulating the regeneration of beta cells through several mechanisms:

  1. The activation of pancreas progenitor cell differentiation and an increase in the number of beta cell precursors [4].
  2. The pro-angiogenic activity of MMSCs, which leads to increased vascularization of the pancreatic islets (regions of the pancreas that contain endocrine cells — which are hormone-producing cells) and general improvement of its endocrine function.
  3. And the immunomodulatory effect, which plays a crucial role in the presence of an autoimmune component in the development and persistence of diabetes, and is an important part of the complex effects of MMSCs [6].

When curing diabetic ulcers, the main goal is to restore adequate blood circulation in the area of the ulceration and reduce ischemia. MMSCs activate resident cells and attract circulating progenitor cells. They also induce new vascular growth from existing capillary networks. As a result, nutrient and oxygen supply is restored, which leads to the stimulation of ulcer epithelization. The ability of MMSCs to stimulate the development of capillary networks and the subsequent increase in blood flow helps to improve one of the most serious complications of type 2 diabetes: generalized microvascular dysfunction. The hypoglycemic effect of the MMSCs contributes to the healing of ulcerative skin lesions in patients with diabetes. Local injections of MMSCs directly around the wound further improves the efficiency of the cell product, helping to accelerate the healing of lesions [7].

Source of stem cells used in the treatment of type 2 diabetes

Multipotent MSCs can be obtained both from the patient’s own tissues (bone marrow, adipose tissue, peripheral blood or oral mucosa) or from donor sources (placenta, umbilical cord, etc).

What does the treatment procedure involve?

The treatment procedure occurs in the following stages which typically take several weeks:

  1. Collection of cell product – the source of MMSCs;
  2. Cell processing and cultivation to obtain the required number of MMSCs (this is the most time-consuming step which lasts about 4 weeks) and;
  3. The injection of MMSCs.

When donor cells are used in the treatment, the second step is excluded. Cell material may be prepared in advance from frozen (cryopreserved) and MMSCs can be ready within 24 hours.

Preliminary procedures

Prior to the procedure, a doctor from Swiss Medica will examine the patient and determine their current state of health and individual characteristics, collecting all the available data from their medical history to determine the feasibility and possibility of conducting stem cell therapy using MMSCs. Laboratory and/or instrumental tests are performed so that the specialist can determine the most suitable source of autologous MMSCs (bone marrow, adipose [fat] tissue or gingival tissue).

In the operating room, the doctor prepares the patient’s skin by cleaning with an antiseptic and then administering local or general anesthesia. Following this, the sampling of biological material is performed.

Bone marrow samples are usually collected from the top ridge of the back of a hipbone or sometimes from the front of the hip.

Adipose tissue is harvested in the area of the anterior abdominal wall, side surfaces of the waist, loins, buttocks, and/or the outer side of the hips.
Gingival tissue stem cell samples are obtained by the surgeon cutting 3-4 mm3 of the gum.

Duration

The bone marrow collection takes about an hour on average.

Harvesting of adipose-derived SVF cells takes about 30 minutes and varies depending upon the amount of tissue aspirated from the patient.

Collecting cells from gingival tissue is also a relatively brief procedure.

The patient is monitored after the collection of MMSCs to ensure their safety.

Your comfort during the procedures

You may feel some pain similar to the sensation from an ordinary injection while the doctor introduces an anesthetic drug (in the case of own cells being harvesting or of local cell product injections).

Safety of stem cell therapy

The key safety issue with stem cell therapy is a possible malignant transformation (i.e. risk of cancer). Clinical trial results confirmed that there is no scientific evidence that MMSCs may potentially spontaneously transform when proper quality control of cell cultivation and the injection is ensured [8], [9]. Local injections of stem cells have also exhibited a very safe profile. The procedures are usually well tolerated in the majority of patients. However, individual intolerance, though rare, cannot be excluded. Swiss Medica specialists will monitor your condition to assure a safe and beneficial result. They will also take appropriate measures to mitigate any possible risks.

Recovery after treatment

Patients may feel some pain in the place where stem cells were collected. To clarify the effectiveness of MMSC transplantation and the decision to reintroduce the cell product, patients undergo a routine examination after 3 and 6 months after the stem cell injection. Mandatory examinations include a physical examination, collection of medical history and a panel of laboratory and instrumental tests, which are performed to assess the results of the stem cell therapy.

If you have any questions about the treatments procedures and using stem cell to manage diabetes type 2, please contact our Medical Advisor. You can discuss your individual case with a specialist of the Swiss Medica clinic.

– Published on April 16, 2019 by

Eremin Ilya Igorevich,

Vice Director for Science and Research,

MD, PhD;

Senior Research Associate at the Laboratory for Cellular Biology and Developmental Pathology at the Institute of General Pathology and Pathophysiology;

Associate Professor of the Department of Regenerative Medicine and Biomedical Technology at A.I. Yevdokimov Moscow State University of Medicine and Dentistry;

Member of the Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Cosmetology and Cellular Technologies (Pirogov Russian National Research Medical University);

Member of International Federation for Adipose Therapeutics and Science (IFATS);

Member of International Society for Cellular Therapy (ISCT);

Member of International Society of Plastic & Regenerative Surgeons (ISPRES);

Member of Cell Society;

Member of International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR);

Member of International Placenta Stem Cells Society (IPLASS);

Author and co-author of more than 120 scientific articles, and co-author of 6 patents of invention.

List of literature references:

[1]. World Health Organization. Diabetes. 2018.

[2]. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), USA.

[3]. National Institutes of Health, USA.

[4]. Li LHH et al. Infusion with human bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells improves β-cell function in patients and non-obese mice with severe diabetes. Sci Rep. 2016;6:37894.

[5]. 36-Item Short Form Health Survey questionnaire.

[6]. Wang Y et al. Plasticity of mesenchymal stem cells in immunomodulation: pathological and therapeutic implications. Nat Immunol. 2014;15 (11):1009-16.

[7]. Cao Y et al. Mesenchymal stem cells improve healing of diabetic foot ulcer. J Diabetes Res. 2017;2017:9328347.

[8]. Bhansali A et al. Efficacy and safety of autologous bone marrow-derived stem cell transplantation in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus: a randomized placebo-controlled study. Cell Transplant. 2014;23(9):1075-85.

[9]. Liu X et al. A preliminary evaluation of efficacy and safety of Wharton’s jelly mesenchymal stem cell transplantation in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus. Stem Cell Res Ther. 2014;5(2):57.

 

Testimonials

What they say about us

All form fields are required.